force user to select severity

General discussion of Mantis.

Moderators: Contributor, Developer

Post Reply
chiahua
Posts: 2
Joined: Apr 02, 2018 5:21 am

force user to select severity

Post by chiahua » Apr 02, 2018 5:27 am

Hi everyone,

I wanna let "Severity" to have the same function like "Category".

What I mean is by default "Severity" is "(Select)", that means users will get alert message when submit with the blank column for "Severity".

I found a previous discussion is to create a new severity named "YourDefaultNewSeverity", but it doesn't mandatory.

Hope to get any solution soon.

Thank you so much!!!!!

atrol
Site Admin
Posts: 7394
Joined: Mar 26, 2008 4:37 pm
Location: Germany

Re: force user to select severity

Post by atrol » Apr 04, 2018 2:55 pm

You can write a custom function (read the Admin Guide for details) or a plugin (read the Developer Guide) to validate input.
Please use Search before posting and read the Manual

chiahua
Posts: 2
Joined: Apr 02, 2018 5:21 am

Re: force user to select severity

Post by chiahua » Apr 10, 2018 2:55 am

Hi Atrol,

Thanks for your reply.

You are right by using the custom function.

But is there no way to modify original Severity column to make it work?

atrol
Site Admin
Posts: 7394
Joined: Mar 26, 2008 4:37 pm
Location: Germany

Re: force user to select severity

Post by atrol » Apr 10, 2018 4:51 am

You can use the mentioned methods (custom function or plugin) to modify the original severity column.
These are good methods, as they will work also after upgrading Mantis to a newer version.

The other (easier) option would be to change source of Mantis, but I don't recommend it.
Please use Search before posting and read the Manual

Post Reply