Changing Access Levels - help for a newbie.

Get help from other users here.

Moderators: Developer, Contributor

Post Reply
1medical
Posts: 2
Joined: Feb 22, 2012 10:59 am

Changing Access Levels - help for a newbie.

Post by 1medical » Feb 22, 2012 11:12 am

I was asked to create a MantisBT account for our company to use while beta testing a new software being developed. A new domain was created (hosted) and MantisBT was downloaded via the host site, but they have informed me they do not do any software support.

I created my MantisBT account and was automatically assigned an access level of "REPORTER". I need to have an access level of "ADMINISTRATOR" but cannot find any instructions or help to change the access level. I have printed off the MantisBT user manual, but it has not been much help.

Can someone please help?

atrol
Site Admin
Posts: 7658
Joined: Mar 26, 2008 4:37 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Changing Access Levels - help for a newbie.

Post by atrol » Feb 22, 2012 11:33 am

There is a default user "administrator" with a default password "root" after a new installation.
If you are not able to login with this username you have to ask the one who installed MantisBT for the name and/or password of the administrator.
Please use Search before posting and read the Manual

istvanb
Posts: 226
Joined: Aug 22, 2010 4:00 pm

Re: Changing Access Levels - help for a newbie.

Post by istvanb » Feb 22, 2012 11:35 am

Welcome in the world of Mantis:)

if you want to change a reporter to an administrator:
-log in as administrator (or whoever can assign the roles, but this mostly means a user with admin credentials)
-click manage
-click manage user
-click on the user name
-change the access level
-hit update user

this is a little bit dangerous though since it gives global admin access to the user which in most of the cases are not neccessary.

If you want to grant admin access to user on a project basis then
-click manage
-click manage projects
-select the project
-scroll down
-add user the the project with the proper credentials

Just a note: Normally admin access should be granted to users really administering the site and for nobody else :)

1medical
Posts: 2
Joined: Feb 22, 2012 10:59 am

Re: Changing Access Levels - help for a newbie.

Post by 1medical » Feb 22, 2012 2:49 pm

Thank you for your feedback! I was able to set up the admin account and should be good moving forward!

Post Reply