Change assigned to when user is disabled

Get help from other users here.

Moderators: Developer, Contributor

Post Reply
Reinder
Posts: 119
Joined: Apr 26, 2005 6:08 am

Change assigned to when user is disabled

Post by Reinder » Mar 07, 2012 3:26 am

We have an extensive database of users and issues which is fine. Only thin g is that people leaving are disabled...still fine. But the problem arises when issues are assigned to these disabled users and then fall of the grid.

Is it somehow possible to either empty the assigned to field when users are disabled or change it back to the reporter automatically (manually this will be a drag....).

Kr,
Reinder

istvanb
Posts: 226
Joined: Aug 22, 2010 4:00 pm

Re: Change assigned to when user is disabled

Post by istvanb » Mar 07, 2012 3:44 am

I am not aware of any automation which does that for you.

What you can do is to list all the issues assigned to the disabled user, hit the select all checkbox, and select "move" in the pull down menu. Then you can move all the issues in one go, which is not too bad. (I guess you have to have manager or admin access to do this by default)

Reinder
Posts: 119
Joined: Apr 26, 2005 6:08 am

Re: Change assigned to when user is disabled

Post by Reinder » Mar 07, 2012 7:28 am

I cannot select issues that are assigned to a disabled user shince these are not in the field to select anymore.....So how can I get an overview of issues assigned to users that are disabled.

istvanb
Posts: 226
Joined: Aug 22, 2010 4:00 pm

Re: Change assigned to when user is disabled

Post by istvanb » Mar 07, 2012 7:40 am

I am not able to reproduce your problem. I had no issues at all to select the issues with the checkboxes.

Try this:
1, select a certain project
2, filter the issues for the disabled user
3, select all the issues (again, I dont understand why would you have a problem with that)
4, click assign

You have to have at least one more developer assigned to that ceratain project.
This should be done on a project basis except if the developer you want to assign the issues is a developer in ALL the projects where the disabled user was a developer.

let me know if if works.

cas
Posts: 604
Joined: Mar 11, 2006 11:08 am
Contact:

Re: Change assigned to when user is disabled

Post by cas » Mar 09, 2012 9:18 am

I created some scripts that handled that, should be somewhere here onr in the bugtracker :D

Reinder
Posts: 119
Joined: Apr 26, 2005 6:08 am

Re: Change assigned to when user is disabled

Post by Reinder » Mar 12, 2012 7:32 am

istvanb wrote:I am not able to reproduce your problem. I had no issues at all to select the issues with the checkboxes.

Try this:
1, select a certain project
2, filter the issues for the disabled user
3, select all the issues (again, I dont understand why would you have a problem with that)
4, click assign

You have to have at least one more developer assigned to that ceratain project.
This should be done on a project basis except if the developer you want to assign the issues is a developer in ALL the projects where the disabled user was a developer.

let me know if if works.
Step 2 is a problem, because i cannot filter on disabled users. The disabled users are simply not in the "assigned to" dropdown and need to be enabled to be able to see them....

istvanb
Posts: 226
Joined: Aug 22, 2010 4:00 pm

Re: Change assigned to when user is disabled

Post by istvanb » Mar 12, 2012 7:36 am

Oh I see... sorry about that. I have a testbox only, with very limited amount of users, so I saw the disabled user as well, but never tried to filter. Yeah... its a legit problem. Try the scripts written by Cas, most likely they will work.

Worst case scenario, enable the user until you assign his/her issues to somebody else, and disable it again. Not the best solution I know, but thats why I would approach if I would need to solve this urgently.

Reinder
Posts: 119
Joined: Apr 26, 2005 6:08 am

Re: Change assigned to when user is disabled

Post by Reinder » Mar 12, 2012 9:53 am

@cas any idea where they are before I spend time searching?

cas
Posts: 604
Joined: Mar 11, 2006 11:08 am
Contact:

Re: Change assigned to when user is disabled

Post by cas » Mar 14, 2012 3:34 pm


Reinder
Posts: 119
Joined: Apr 26, 2005 6:08 am

Re: Change assigned to when user is disabled

Post by Reinder » Mar 15, 2012 4:37 am

@cas Nice plugin. However, I now have converted my whole history as well, instead of only the assigned to user. I would like to know who entered issues in the past and what happened in the meantime (in other words, to have the complete history available)....is that possible as well?

cas
Posts: 604
Joined: Mar 11, 2006 11:08 am
Contact:

Re: Change assigned to when user is disabled

Post by cas » Mar 16, 2012 10:20 am

Have to disappoint you, that is not an option at this moment in time.
Would be relative easy to add a switch to convert only active issues.
However the old user would need to stay in the system

Reinder
Posts: 119
Joined: Apr 26, 2005 6:08 am

Re: Change assigned to when user is disabled

Post by Reinder » Mar 19, 2012 6:08 am

Thats not a problem since we want that history of users anyway...

Reinder
Posts: 119
Joined: Apr 26, 2005 6:08 am

Re: Change assigned to when user is disabled

Post by Reinder » Mar 21, 2012 6:19 am

@cas Are you planning of adding this relatively easy update anytime soon? Need to know, so I can act (or not) on it.

cas
Posts: 604
Joined: Mar 11, 2006 11:08 am
Contact:

Re: Change assigned to when user is disabled

Post by cas » Mar 26, 2012 10:21 am

Will see if I can handle this in the coming weeks. :mrgreen:

cas
Posts: 604
Joined: Mar 11, 2006 11:08 am
Contact:

Re: Change assigned to when user is disabled

Post by cas » Mar 27, 2012 2:41 am

New version is available, check it out here:
http://www.mantisbt.org/bugs/view.php?id=7260

Post Reply