older mantis 1.1.7 going to 2.8.0, platform retired

Get help from other users here.

Moderators: Developer, Contributor

SunnyMantis
Posts: 60
Joined: Jan 03, 2018 10:39 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

older mantis 1.1.7 going to 2.8.0, platform retired

Post by SunnyMantis » Jan 23, 2018 10:23 am

Hi, we do need mantis, precisely, the data from the mantis, however, the platform mantis 1.1.7 sitting on is going to retire (windows server 2003) . It should be retired long time ago actually. :-)
I want to know what would be the proper way to retire the data as platform we cannot control any longer.
Last edited by SunnyMantis on Mar 02, 2018 10:40 am, edited 1 time in total.

rkarmann
Posts: 66
Joined: Nov 24, 2017 5:00 am
Location: Lille, France

Re: What would be the best way to retire

Post by rkarmann » Feb 28, 2018 4:12 am

Hi,

I would say... try a DUMP ? Or upgrade if possible :)
Currently working on a wiki-based plugin for MantisBT 2.X. If you'd like to test it, contact me or see the plugin section.

SunnyMantis
Posts: 60
Joined: Jan 03, 2018 10:39 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: What would be the best way to retire

Post by SunnyMantis » Mar 02, 2018 8:37 am

we consider 'upgrade', but run into some troubles as 1.1.7 very old, some platform not supported. :-( we are seeking for a successful case from a mantis lower than 1.1.8 , upgraded to current version, perhaps, which is ideal for us.

rkarmann
Posts: 66
Joined: Nov 24, 2017 5:00 am
Location: Lille, France

Re: What would be the best way to retire

Post by rkarmann » Mar 02, 2018 8:47 am

Yes, in fact you might get issues with Mantis database schema. If you can try it on a localhost, then run on a test server, guess you will be able to migrate...
Currently working on a wiki-based plugin for MantisBT 2.X. If you'd like to test it, contact me or see the plugin section.

SunnyMantis
Posts: 60
Joined: Jan 03, 2018 10:39 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

older mantis 1.1.7 going to 2.8.0, platform retired

Post by SunnyMantis » Mar 02, 2018 10:34 am

agree with you!

our mantis 1.1.7 for production use actually, I cannot touch, but the database dump sql can be imported into 2.8.0 structure, or cannot ?
As you said, some schema changed on database level, I don't think that would be a simple task just import sql (whole 1.1.7 data) into current running 2.8.0 database.

The questions I always have and no solution so far yet -
just based on a dump sql file from 1.1.7, can we achieve the goal to have a higher version of mantis running on data from 1.1.7 dump ?
if we use import on DB level, table by table ?
should we adjust anything or run some tasks to make sure we are fitting into a higher level schema ?

after all, we are changing the interface to 2.8.0; while data 'migrated' from 1.1.7;
testing site 2.8.0 running as expected, and we can have full access.

atrol
Site Admin
Posts: 7690
Joined: Mar 26, 2008 4:37 pm
Location: Germany

Re: older mantis 1.1.7 going to 2.8.0, platform retired

Post by atrol » Mar 02, 2018 10:48 am

SunnyMantis wrote:
Mar 02, 2018 10:34 am
but the database dump sql can be imported into 2.8.0 structure, or cannot ?
As you said, some schema changed on database level, I don't think that would be a simple task just import sql (whole 1.1.7 data) into current running 2.8.0 database.
Didn't I tell you how to do that? viewtopic.php?f=3&t=25226&p=64240#p64166
Please use Search before posting and read the Manual

SunnyMantis
Posts: 60
Joined: Jan 03, 2018 10:39 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: older mantis 1.1.7 going to 2.8.0, platform retired

Post by SunnyMantis » Mar 05, 2018 10:22 am

what we have had is a sql file from 1.1.7 and a site running 2.8.0 , what we need :
step by step based on what we have to see whether we can see data from 1.1.7 in 2.8.0.

rkarmann
Posts: 66
Joined: Nov 24, 2017 5:00 am
Location: Lille, France

Re: older mantis 1.1.7 going to 2.8.0, platform retired

Post by rkarmann » Mar 06, 2018 7:37 am

In case you just need to retrieve bug datas from your old Mantis, is it possible to export/import bug in XML in your 1.1 version ? See this thread

Not sure this will work for you but let's try
Currently working on a wiki-based plugin for MantisBT 2.X. If you'd like to test it, contact me or see the plugin section.

SunnyMantis
Posts: 60
Joined: Jan 03, 2018 10:39 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: older mantis 1.1.7 going to 2.8.0, platform retired

Post by SunnyMantis » Mar 06, 2018 7:49 am

yes!
but
XML feature not in v1.1.7 unfortunately, we only see PRINT REPORTS, CSV EXPORT when viewing issues.
XML feature okay in 2.8.0 we can see like
Viewing Issues (0 - 0 / 0) [ Print Reports ] [ CSV Export ] [ Excel Export ] [ XML Export ]

the situation here :
sql file will be available, but not every one knows how to access, so we need an interface (v2.8.0) or any version can be loaded onto current platform our IT supported;
sql file will be used for a data migration into jira, but that's in another plan.

rkarmann
Posts: 66
Joined: Nov 24, 2017 5:00 am
Location: Lille, France

Re: older mantis 1.1.7 going to 2.8.0, platform retired

Post by rkarmann » Mar 06, 2018 8:01 am

Ok I see. Well I have upgraded 1.2.14 > 2.9 a few weeks earlier, and faced just one difficulty, wich has been solved by fetching this forum ( schema[185] or something like that).

-> Create a Virtual Machine and install PHP 5.5 or > (with MySQL 5.5)
-> Dump your Mantis Database and import the SQL file in your new VM's database
-> (Make several copies so you won't have to import each time it might fail)
-> When your DB is ready, copy latest MantisBugTracker realease on your new server
-> Follow installation process
-> Make sure to type the right DB name (your old mantis's db name, if not renamed)
-> Mantis will process to the installation (you might encounter many errors but nothing that you can't find on the web ;) )
Currently working on a wiki-based plugin for MantisBT 2.X. If you'd like to test it, contact me or see the plugin section.

SunnyMantis
Posts: 60
Joined: Jan 03, 2018 10:39 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: older mantis 1.1.7 going to 2.8.0, platform retired

Post by SunnyMantis » Mar 08, 2018 10:24 am

I will see how it goes on my end to follow your steps. Thank you very much!

SunnyMantis
Posts: 60
Joined: Jan 03, 2018 10:39 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: older mantis 1.1.7 going to 2.8.0, platform retired

Post by SunnyMantis » Mar 08, 2018 11:31 am

forum link schema[185] where should I go , please ?

rkarmann
Posts: 66
Joined: Nov 24, 2017 5:00 am
Location: Lille, France

Re: older mantis 1.1.7 going to 2.8.0, platform retired

Post by rkarmann » Mar 08, 2018 11:51 am

See this post from atrol.
Currently working on a wiki-based plugin for MantisBT 2.X. If you'd like to test it, contact me or see the plugin section.

SunnyMantis
Posts: 60
Joined: Jan 03, 2018 10:39 am
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: older mantis 1.1.7 going to 2.8.0, platform retired

Post by SunnyMantis » Mar 08, 2018 1:22 pm

Hi,
Good news: data from 1.1.7 imported into 2.8.0 without problem. site can be launched, but
Bad news: although we have 2.8.0 site, login error still.

rkarmann
Posts: 66
Joined: Nov 24, 2017 5:00 am
Location: Lille, France

Re: older mantis 1.1.7 going to 2.8.0, platform retired

Post by rkarmann » Mar 08, 2018 1:25 pm

What kind of login error?
Currently working on a wiki-based plugin for MantisBT 2.X. If you'd like to test it, contact me or see the plugin section.

Post Reply