migration with phpMyAdmin

Get help from other users here.

Moderators: Developer, Contributor

Post Reply
m1st
Posts: 2
Joined: Jan 16, 2019 3:56 pm

migration with phpMyAdmin

Post by m1st » Jan 16, 2019 5:52 pm

I am migrating database from Bitnami Mantis Stack 2.0.0 Rev1 to fresh Bitnami Mantis Stack 2.19.0-0. Database was exported in CSV format via phpMyAdmin, imported also via phpMyAdmin without any warnings.

phpMyAdmin on target machine displays expected data in SQL tables (I cannot confirm that all data was migrated successfully), however MantisBT web interface on target machine still does not show any data.

What do I miss to complete the migration?

Please advise.

atrol
Site Admin
Posts: 7647
Joined: Mar 26, 2008 4:37 pm
Location: Germany

Re: migration with phpMyAdmin

Post by atrol » Jan 17, 2019 5:40 am

CSV is not a good format to transfer databases.
I assume your new database is different to your old one concerning data types of columns.

The right way would be to export / import the database by using mySQL command line tools mysqldump and mysql.

I am not sure, never tried myself, maybe export type "SQL" in phpMyAdmin does also the job.
Please use Search before posting and read the Manual

m1st
Posts: 2
Joined: Jan 16, 2019 3:56 pm

Re: migration with phpMyAdmin

Post by m1st » Jan 20, 2019 9:32 am

atrol wrote:
Jan 17, 2019 5:40 am
CSV is not a good format to transfer databases.
I assume your new database is different to your old one concerning data types of columns.

The right way would be to export / import the database by using mySQL command line tools mysqldump and mysql.

I am not sure, never tried myself, maybe export type "SQL" in phpMyAdmin does also the job.
Thank you for response.

mysqldump command requires SQL database name as argument. Source Mantis installation was created using Bitnami MantisBT Stack https://bitnami.com/stack/mantis and phpMyAdmin reports there 5 databases (see screenshot
databases.png
databases on the source machine
databases.png (29.18 KiB) Viewed 538 times
)

Am I understand correctly that all 5 databases must be exported?

atrol
Site Admin
Posts: 7647
Joined: Mar 26, 2008 4:37 pm
Location: Germany

Re: migration with phpMyAdmin

Post by atrol » Jan 20, 2019 10:34 am

You have to export just the Mantis database.
Please use Search before posting and read the Manual

Post Reply