Page 1 of 1

New user signup & Image.Code Problem

Posted: Apr 29, 2005 7:21 am
by Svobi
Hiyas!

I've set up Mantis 1.0.0a2 on our server.

Apache 1, PHP 4.3.4..

Everything runs nice but when a new user want's to register, no image appears for validating. Then I call the script itself:

make_captcha_img.php?public_key=85448

for example I got an error:

"Die Grafik "http://bugtracker.kcce.de/make_captcha_ ... _key=85448" kann nicht angezeigt werden, weil sie Fehler enthält."

-> Image can't be shown because of an error.

Ideas?

Regards, Svobi

Posted: Apr 29, 2005 2:06 pm
by thraxisp
The error doesn't come from the captcha code as the error messages are all in english. Would it be possible that your GD library is corrupted, or doesn't support JPEG images?

Workaround

Posted: Aug 15, 2005 2:30 am
by boujin
If you cannot get the GD library to work with the php script correctly you can try disabling the "captcha" authentication.

To do so:
1. Edit the "config_defaults_inc.php" script.
2. Look for this line:

Code: Select all

        # use captcha image to validate subscription it requires GD library installed
        $g_signup_use_captcha   = ON;
3. Change ON => OFF.

This will eliminate the need for the image during login, but now the system is more vulnerable. Take your pick.[/code]

Posted: Aug 15, 2005 6:50 am
by thraxisp
You would be better off to add the line

Code: Select all

$g_signup_use_captcha   = OFF;
to your config_inc.php file. This file is not overwritten when you upgrade Mantis.