Change session timeout value?

Get help from other users here.

Moderators: Developer, Contributor

metroid

Change session timeout value?

Post by metroid »

Hi,

I'm new to Mantis and would like to know where I would go about changing the session timeout period or how to disable. I read somewhere I should set it to -1 but I cannot find the php file to edit!

Please help!

Regards :)
metroid

Post by metroid »

Anyone?
John D.

Post by John D. »

Hi metroid and anyone else,

I hope i am not too late to answer your question. I had the very same problem using Mantis 1.0.8. After inspecting the code I finally reached the conclusion that setting the session timeout value is not possible (in Mantis 1.0.8 which is the only version I have installed and read any code of).
In fact, it seems to me that Mantis 1.0.8 does not use sessions at all.

Though I will not guarantee the correctness of the following information, here is what I think how Mantis handles "Sessions":

A user will have direct access (i.e. not have to log on) if he has a cookie on his/her machine from the server he wants Mantis to access on named "MANTIS_STRING_COOKIE" containing a 64-digit hexadecimal value which matches on of the values in the cookie_string column of the mantis_user_table.
Each user account has a cookie string which is unique (see the following functions for that: user_create (in user_api.php) calls auth_generate_unique_cookie_string() (in authentication_api.php). The cookie string is also fixed, i.e. given a fixed account it will always be the same, especially for different sessions. As the cookie_string, acting as some kind of session ID, is always the same (for one account), hijacking this "session" is rather easy: just get hold of the cookie at any given time of the lifespan of the corresponding account.