How to Set up password for Newly created user account ?

Get help from other users here.

Moderators: Developer, Contributor

mathanblr

How to Set up password for Newly created user account ?

Post by mathanblr »

Hello Everybody!

I am a newbie for this form as well as Mantis. I am able to login to the session with administrator account with the given default password, Also, I am able to create new users from manage users section. but am unable to setup the password. in fact there is no password field where we can mention a password for the user. User user account is getting created. All my server tools are running fine.

In Regards to this matter, when I look in to the user manual section # System Management Pages

1. Manage Users - Its mentioned that " After creating the user with mantis, open mantis_user_table, set the password field to empty. login to Mantis using the new user id without password(remember, you juts set to EMPTY), now you can set the new password using Mantis UI!!"

I was able to locate the mantis_user_table. But how do I change the field. means which tool do I open this table.

Is this a table or a Database. I am very new to this Mantis. and have no pre knowledge about mysql or php. just wanted to user this bug reporting tool.

can someone please post the step by step guide to solve the above mention problem ..

Thanks in advance,

Mathan. S
vzw614

Re: How to Set up password for Newly created user account ?

Post by vzw614 »

What database are you using?

Mantis_user_table is a table in the mantis database (usually named bugtracker if you accepted defaults when installing Mantis).

You will need to use a DB tool to open that table and edit the password field. SQL Enterprise Manager (for MS SQL) or possibly mysqladmin for MySQL.
mathanblr

Unable to Open the DB file ? plz healp!

Post by mathanblr »

Hello,